10 Things Most Americans Don’t Know About America | Thought Catalog

This is the first time I “reblog” something from someone else.  I think it speaks for itself.

[[ http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/10-things-most-americans-dont-know-about-america/#AsobrEHERTbpsJbh.24 ]]

What I especially related to was:

4. WE ARE POOR AT EXPRESSING GRATITUDE AND AFFECTION

6. THE REST OF THE WORLD IS NOT SLUM-RIDDEN COMPARED TO US

7. WE’RE PARANOID

“In fact, the experience has been the opposite. In countries like Russia, Colombia or Guatemala, people were so friendly it actually scared me. Some stranger in a bar would invite me to his house for a bar-b-que with his family, a random person on the street would offer to show me around and give me directions to a store I was trying to find. My American instincts were always that, “Wait, this guy is going to try to rob me or kill me,” but they never did. They were just insanely friendly.”

THE VIDEO.

It’s probably a little too intense for most people.  It’s from the Newsroom, the beginning of a HBO series that premiered in 2012.  Remember, criticism is not unpatriotic.  In fact, I would consider it more patriotic than many other “acts of patriotism” that people normally either actively or passively express.  As far as a freshmen in college I literally received almost all my news information from Fox News, New York Times, and Time Magazine.  By junior year, I thought I was more educated by creating variety: I would flip back and forth between CNN, Fox News, and CNBC, just to get different viewpoints every few minutes.  Until I realized that it was a bunch of people giving their opinions on the same narrow set of subjects.  Why do I need someone to form an opinion for me?

Now, I watch the news probably for about 20 minutes every two weeks, just to see what people are actually “thinking”.  It is incredible what is news, and what is not news!  It is incredible that this viewpoint might also be considered “radical”.

It is true that you need to leave the bubble, to really see what is inside the bubble.

Leave a comment - Deja un comentario - Deixa o seu comentário

